Board of Directors

What is Associated Students?

Associated Students (AS), the student government at San Francisco State University, serves as the official voice of students. AS promotes an enriched co-curricular student life experience and is dedicated to the empowerment of SF State’s diverse student body through a commitment to social justice and shared governance. AS provides and supports services and programs, maintains fiduciary responsibility, and engages in campus-wide collaborations and external advocacy efforts.


2020-2021 Board Of Directors

Students have the opportunity to vote or be elected into the Associated Students Board of Directors. In doing so, candidates experience many influential events such as the campaign process to having the chance to use their ideas to provide for the students here at SF State.


Andrew Carrillo


Tyler Lewis

Chief of Staff


Zoram Tomas Ruiz-Mercado

VP of Internal Affairs

Joshua Ochoa

VP of External Affairs

Rashid Abdul Rahiman

VP of Finance

Chantel Bermudez

VP of Social Justice and Equity

Alondra Esquivel Garcia

VP of Facilities & Services

Chief Justice


Brittnay Nguyen

Graduate Representative

Director of Recreation, Health and Wellness

Director of Sustainability & Basic Needs

Director of Retention & Graduation Initiatives


Director of Government & Community Relations


Student Organization Representative

Liberal & Creative Arts Rep


Jainam Shah

Science & Engineering Rep

Samiksha Nehra

Business Rep

Ja’Corey Bowens

Ethnic Studies Rep

Vanessa Miller

Education Rep

Tatiana Madison

Health & Social Science Rep

Dr. Lucia Volk

Faculty Rep

Tonee Sherrill

Executive Director

Dr. Beth Hellwig

Interim VP for Student Affairs &
Enrollment Management

Elena Stoain

Student Trust Officer


FY 2020 – 2021 Board of Directors List

(To view PDF files, you may download Adobe Reader)  

We’re here to represent you.

Associated Students Elections are held each year during the Spring Semester. During this time, officers are elected to serve as the student government. These positions include President and Vice President, representatives of each college, and representatives of every class. The elections take place online, making it easy for students to vote from any computer location.